Star Trek Into Darkness Poster Revealed OR Cumberbatch!!

I’ve been a HUGE Star Tek fan ever since I was a kid and I watched Next Generation episodes every afternoon in syndication and collected ALL of the action figures.  Well, most of them anyway.  I had at least 50.

I also absolutely loved J.J. Abrams new Star Trek movie, and thought it was just the shot in the arm the franchise needed after petering out somewhat with Enterprise and Star Trek: Nemesis.  I’ve probably seen it at least twenty times.  When it’s on TV, I have to watch it!!  Even though I own it and could watch it at my leisure anytime AND commercial breaks are annoying.  Regardless, I loved it.

Another thing I loved was the BBC’s Sherlock, and it’s wonderfully named lead, Benedict Cumberbatch.  If you’ve ever been on the internet or have friends of any sort, doubtless you’ve heard about the show and how great it is, so I won’t rehash it here.  Suffice it to say, Cumberbatch is epic.

And now these things have joined together!!  Benedict Cumberbatch is the villain in the second movie of the new Star Trek franchise, the grammatically odd Star Trek Into Darkness.  The poster just came out to day, and it’s heavy on the Cumberbatch:

star-trek-into-darkness-poster

Yes, I know it’s a rip off of the Dark Knight Rises poster, and yes, it’s just Cumberbatch in a coat and we don’t even get to see any of the crew, but I don’t care.  Star Trek!!  Cumberbatch!!  I’m a million percent on board.

Here is the official synopsis if for some reason the concept of Sherlock in space wreaking havoc hasn’t already guaranteed your attendance:

In Summer 2013, pioneering director J.J. Abrams will deliver an explosive action thriller that takes Star Trek Into Darkness.

When the crew of the Enterprise is called back home, they find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization has detonated the fleet and everything it stands for, leaving our world in a state of crisis.

With a personal score to settle, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

As our heroes are propelled into an epic chess game of life and death, love will be challenged, friendships will be torn apart, and sacrifices must be made for the only family Kirk has left: his crew.

Oh man, this is going to be gooooooooooood!!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers

