Man Of Steel Trailer Released OR It Looks Surprisingly Good

Along with most everyone else on the planet, I was a little concerned when Warner Bros. announced that Zack Snyder would be directing the new Superman movie.  Don’t get me wrong, 300 was crazy fun, and the man’s not entirely without skill, but he seemed like a generic, uninspired choice for Superman.  Plus his movies are kind of rapey, you know?

The teaser for Man of Steel was pretty vague, but now we’ve got the first full trailer and it’s actually quite good:

First off, Superman has a beard, which is classy.  People with beards are automatically ten times cooler than everyone else.  FULL DISCLOSURE: I also have a beard.

Second, it looks explodey and crazy and Michael Shannon looks completely bonkers as Zod, which is a very good thing.  Unhinged Michael Shannon is one of the most enjoyable things in the world.  I just finished the last season of Boardwalk Empire and in one scene he went from mildly irritated to burning a dude with an iron, trashing his office, and then calmly walking out like nothing had happened.  I think he’s going to be a fantastic Zod.

Third, it looks like it’s definitely going to be a darker movie.  Clark seems to be dealing with some heavy things, and I think that maybe his parents are going to die and that sends him on his fishing journey.  In the trailer, Martha is his island in the sea of voices and sounds he can hear, and without her he might have some troubles.

On top of that prediction, it’s abundantly clear that this isn’t an “Oh hooray, a superhero… welcome to the city!” kind of movie.  People don’t appear to be accepting Superman with open arms, if his arrest is any indication.  Lois is going to accept him, though, and have his back.  She always does.  Amy Adams was only in the trailer for like two seconds, so there’s not much to say about Lois, but it wasn’t a bad two seconds AND she didn’t burst into song.  I always expect Anne Hathaway and Amy Adams to spontaneously start singing when I see them in anything.  It made Dark Knight Rises kind of weird for me.

So yeah, it looks very good.  A little darker and more morose than I like my Superman, but Henry Cavill seems like a good fit for the part and they’ve finally closed the door on the Donner/Reeve era.  Superman needs a new direction.  I’m definitely intrigued.  Plus it had Superman flying and such, and that always gives me chills.

However, we’ve seen great trailers from Snyder before, and the movies don’t always follow through.  Remember how amazing the Watchmen trailer was?  That was one of the best trailers I’ve ever seen, and it had me over the moon excited for the movie.  And then Watchmen was really, really bad and I was all disappointed.  So my hopes aren’t all that high for Man of Steel, seeing as I’ve been burned before by Snyder AND by a new Superman movie (I’m looking at you, Superman Returns).  I’m going to keep my expectations low and hopefully I’ll be surprised at how good the movie turns out.  So far, the trailer has me cautiously optimistic.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

