My Very Own Cliff Chiang Wonder Woman Page!!

It was my birthday this past weekend, and I got some very awesome presents that are also kind of interesting and cool so I’ll be posting about them sporadically this week.  First up is my homemade Game of Thrones “Starks of Winterfell” gingerbread cookies, which are spectacularly delicious.  I’ve been eating like four a day.  Second up is a fantastic piece of comic book art from Cliff Chiang!!

Remember when I wrote my review for Wonder Woman #11 and I went on and on about the page set in the local clinic with Hermes, Zola, and Wonder Woman, and about Diana’s awesome jacket and that the town was named “Oliveburn” and such?  It took up like half of the review, and you probably thought I was a weirdo for rambling on about a coat.  Well guess what?  I OWN THAT PAGE NOW!!!!  Check it out:

And here’s the printed page from Wonder Woman #11:

It’s SO cool!!  You can see the blue pencils underneath, and fun little things like the spots where Chiang had to use white-out.  Plus it’s got everything I love about the printed page, with all my favourite characters, the jacket of course, and “Oliveburn” on the window.  And it’s signed and everything!!  It’s just AWESOME.  I stare at it all the time.

While I am a huge comic book fan, I am also a poor comic book fan, so I’ve never gotten a page of original art before.  I’ve looked at TONS of pages covetously, but they tend to be very pricey and I could better use my money to get actual comics and pay, you know, living expenses.  So yeah, getting my very own piece of original art is really cool and special to me, doubly so because it’s a page I love so much, triply so because I love Wonder Woman so much, and quadruply so because I think Cliff Chiang is like unto a god.  It’s an absolutely gorgeous first piece to what I hope will grow into a cool collection should I someday become a huge comic book fan with some disposable income.

Anyway, I own a piece of Cliff Chiang art!!  With Wonder Woman on it!!  It’s so very fun.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “My Very Own Cliff Chiang Wonder Woman Page!!”

  1. Karl Says:

    Hey, it was my birthday too, on the 30th of September [Sunday]!!

  2. Anonymous Says:

    @Karl- Happy Birthday! I hope you also got killer WW art for your birthday
    @Tim It’s so lovely! I have a GL panel on my wall that i get to see everyday- original art is the best.

  3. Karl Says:

    Tim and Anonymous;
    thanks – I got two WW books; Showcase volume four and the Twelve Labors paperback, plus other unrelated stuff [a friend got me a pipe and slippers – fluffy slippers, to be exact!].

Leave a Reply

