My Guest Post At DC Women Kicking Ass: The Brief Feminist Revolution of Superman’s Girl Friend Lois Lane

I was lucky enough to get to do a guest post on DC Women Kicking Ass this week while Sue is out of town.  I wrote about Superman’s Girl Friend Lois Lane, and Lois’ very short feminist revolution in 1972.  Lois Lane is one of my favourite characters, SGFLL is one of my favourite series, Dorothy Woolfolk is one of my favourite old school creators, and DCWKA is one of my favourite sites, so this piece was super fun to write all around.

My post is called “The Brief Feminist Revolution of Superman’s Girl Friend Lois Lane”, and it’s all about how Lois broke up with Superman, quit the Daily Planet to become a freelance journalist, and moved in with three other feminist women.  It was a really good, and very timely, arc, motivated by Dorothy Woolfolk, the series’ new editor and a staunch women’s libber.

Of course, this is comics, so Woolfolk lasted all of seven issues, the series was cancelled soon after, and during the feminist run DC ran a column decrying women’s lib.  You can’t have any kind of sustained feminist voice in comics… that would just be insane.

So head on over to DC Women Kicking Ass and check it out!!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “My Guest Post At DC Women Kicking Ass: The Brief Feminist Revolution of Superman’s Girl Friend Lois Lane”

  1. lacbfotography Says:

    I read this post on DC Women Kicking Ass’s blog (I follow her blog – she is amazing!) – and loved it, so thanks!

Leave a Reply

