The Wonder Woman And Superman “The Kiss” Statue OR I’m Legitimately Curious: Is Anyone Planning To Buy This?

Last August, Wonder Woman and Superman became an item in Justice League #12, and the cover featured them kissing way up in the clouds.  It was, and continues to be, a dumb and poorly done storyline, but it sold a few more books than usual which was, I’m sure, DC’s primary objective.  I don’t think I saw any reaction to this new romance that was in the ballpark of positive, though a few people probably liked it.  And now, months later when no one is really talking about it anymore because they haven’t done much with the Wonder Woman/Superman romance since, DC is commemorating that majestic kiss with this new statue:


If this picture isn’t enough detail for you, head over to DC’s site where they have a video that is literally a full minute of the camera spinning around the statue.  Interestingly, the statue isn’t based on the actual cover, which looked like this:


But rather the second printing, which looked like this:


The first cover was the one that was plastered everywhere in August, but I guess they didn’t like its statue potential.  Maybe they thought it was too bondagey.

So now, this September you can buy this glorious recreation of this famed kiss and display it proudly in your home.  It’s over 14 inches tall, has that weird metallic look DC’s been doing with a lot of their statues and toys lately, and is finely crafted by sculptor Tim Bruckner.  Also, it costs $249.95.

Wow, that’s a lot of money.

Which leads me to this question: Is anyone actually planning to buy this statue?  I completely understand the appeal of statues and toys and such.  My place is riddled with action figures, and I have a super cool Jim Lee-designed Batman Black and White statue too.  But all of my superhero collectibles are doing cool, superhero things, not fixing to make out in the clouds.  That strikes me as an odd moment to capture forever and place on your mantelpiece.

I’m actually very curious whether people are going to buy this statue.  If you are, let me know in the comments.  I completely fail to see the appeal, so tell me what I’m missing here.  DC clearly thinks that a fair number of people will gladly pay $250 for this statue, and I’m just not seeing it.  Enlighten me in the comments, if you are so inclined.

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “The Wonder Woman And Superman “The Kiss” Statue OR I’m Legitimately Curious: Is Anyone Planning To Buy This?”

  1. Karl Says:

    I have eight WW statues, another on its way next week, dotted about my home [mainly upstairs in my spare bedroom] and feel obliged as a fan to get this…however it makes me feel ever so slightly uncomfortable. Its the pose of the two of them that comes across as slightly seedy, esp the way Diana is leaning in towards Kal. The only good thing are the clouds base, which when I put it together with my last WW statue [with the wave water base on which she is propped] will make a good contrast.
    I will get it [Im a hopeless case when it comes to collecting WW merchandise, esp action figures] but it wont be the pride of my collection..
    For some reason [maybe its the romantic/sexual element she’s being put in] I find this statue oddly distasteful.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      You make an excellent point, Karl. I’d forgotten about collector’s who buy everything! I suppose that’s always a fairly decent market for these sort of things. Sorry you have to begrudgingly pick up this one.

  2. Wendy Says:

    $250 buys a lot of action figures… and I’m not a fan of Superman. Nope, not buying it. WW is awesome, but I can’t see spending that kind of money on a statue. I like my plastic: less painful to replace if it gets broken or the dog eats it.

  3. Te Says:

    I’m a fan of Diana/Clark, so it’s tempting… but then I think of how it’s handled in the comics — how it’s *always* been handled in the comics, as opposed to how it’s handled in the confines of my head and my fan-fiction — and I… yeah.

    I go right back to saving my money for comics companies who actually seem to want the money of queer Black women like me.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      Yeah, there are ways in which I can see Diana/Clark working, but it’s definitely not how they’re doing it right now. That’s fun you’ve got your fan-fiction for a better version though!

  4. IronBerserk Says:

    Yeah, I’m definitely not buying this statue since I myself obviously can’t stand the whole Supes/WW relationship.

    Actually your first paragraph brought up a point that has been bothering me fro a while now is the lack of development. As much as I hate this uninteresting and ridiculous famous duo match up, interesting things can come from it.

    What I think Geoff Johns is trying to do with this relationship is create a situation in which both WW and Supes lose that link they have to humanity they both had when they used to date humans. Those relationships with humans kept their thoughts grounded. Now that two god like beings are dating each other, their responsibilities are towards each other which could also lead to the increase of their own ego’s. That is the danger I think Johns is hinting to…I think.

    However, even if Johns is thinking of taking an interesting route like this one, the pay off which will be the eventual break up will not be worth anything. You have to develop the relationship if not the ending will have no emotional impact. No one will care or give a crap. I know I won’t😛

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      That’s a cool theory. I could see that coming into play in Trinity War maybe. It sounds ways more interesting than anything I’ve heard about Trinity War so far, that’s for sure🙂 I agree that whatever they’re building to, they’re building it rather poorly so far. No one seems particularly invested in this relationship.

  5. Kerin A. Prince Says:

    I am not pleased with the cosdtumed looks of Superman or Wonder Woman in the Nu52, and not buying this stuff, But also, I would like DC to give us back the Superman and Wonder Woman that the world came to love over the years. and put Wonder Woman in a world we can all better relate to.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      The New 52 has alienated a lot of long term fans, many of whom were likely big into merchandise. I wonder how the New 52 items are selling, in general, compared to how the older products sold?

  6. Numbers Says:

    Hello, after reading this remarkable article i am also glad to share my know-how
    here with mates.

  7. Jason Says:

    If I recall correctly, the statue isn’t based on the cover but the interior art in which they actually kissed, also from where the 2nd print cover was taken.

    NO ONE SHOULD BUY THIS!!! I would if it was a true representation of the original Jim Lee image, which it is, except for the fact that in the statue THERE IS NO KISS!!!

  8. cameron Says:

    I actually brought the statue, its one of my favorite pieces in my collection. Its well designed, my friends also enjoys my collection especially when I add the Kiss. My female friends are very much in love with it. One of them even brought it off me cause she couldn’t wait for the delivery time. So I had to order another one and it finally came in and is now on my display.

Leave a Reply

