First Look At Grant Morrison and Yanick Paquette’s Wonder Woman: Earth One

So it seems that it’s actually happeneing.  Today we got a look at a double page spread from Grant Morrison and Yanick Paquette’s upcoming Wonder Woman: Earth One graphic novel, showing Queen Hippolyta killing Hercules:


Man, the Amazons are just killing everyone lately.  Paquette is a great artist, and the page is well drawn and composed, but this seems like a bizarre tone to set for the first image from the book.

It sounds like the book is finished, coming in at 120 pages like the rest of the Earth One graphic novels, so we should expect it to be solicited soon, perhaps even this Monday.  I could not be less excited.  Everything I’ve read of Morrison talking about the character sounds like he doesn’t get Wonder Woman at all, plus I find his approach to superheroes is just “burn it all down”… he goes to town killing people and rejiggering everything so you have issues and issues of chaos that just seem to peter off when he gets bored.  So yeah, I’m not looking forward to this.  Paquette is great, and I’m sure the book will be gorgeous, but I’d be fine never reading another Morrison comic book again.

I was going to say that this book couldn’t be worse than the latest Superman: Earth One or Batman: Earth One books, but I think it could.  We’ll have to see.  I’ll keep an open mind, of course, but I’m not optimistic.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “First Look At Grant Morrison and Yanick Paquette’s Wonder Woman: Earth One”

  1. Karl Says:

    Looking forward to this also…by the by Im not a fan of Morrison really; too much destructive nuances [and not even good nuances] in his work, which seems to rely on shock tactics and changing the status quo just for the sheer thrill of it. I had bad vibes about him when he suggested ten years ago in his Marvel Knights series of the Fantastic Four that Sue and Johhny could have an incestuous relationship. Very bad shock writing indeed and so glad it Marvel said an emphatic no and it didnt come off.The fact he knows next to nothing about our favourite lady bodes badly…lets face it weve had enough of those writing the book for the last few years!
    This looks good but Paquette’s art is always a joy isnt it, its clean and sleek and has the look of Adam Hughes [I thought he was drawing it, actually…] so the visual look anyhow is something to draw me in.
    I think this will be a big seller, which should be a change for WW fans, who seem denuded of their favourite heroine and her classic look [thats a thing,,,does she wear her costume?] so if nothing else it should have some intrinsic novelty value for us much-deprived WW fans.
    Definitely on my ‘pull list’.

  2. IronBerserk Says:

    Yeah, not a big Morrison fan as well. All-Star Superman was great and so is some of his Batman stuff, but all in all I’ve never liked his take on some heroes. His latest run of Action Comics was a complete disappointment because he simply in my opinion didn’t understand Superman.

    As for you not liking the Earth One books, I’m surprised. Superman Earth One by JMS is far from being bad. Quite average really, which was too bad because I like JMS overall as a writer. Haven’t gotten to Batman Earth One by Geoff Johns. I’ve heard lots of praises…but then again, the media is ever hardly correct.

    I will be reading Morrison’s WW which should be interesting at the very least. Its fun seeing these big named writers doing one shots of classic superheroes. Gives you an idea of what they think about the character.

  3. CM Towns Says:

    Some of these instances of “burning it down” or “changing the status quo for the sheer thrill of it” are books that were removed from the status quo before Morrison took them. Or were unfocused and tied up in their own continuity issues. Doom Patrol, JLA, and New X-Men are examples of this. That’s why they became popular (or cult hits). Some of his more chaotic work tends to be contained to his z-list reinventions without a status quo. I understand if the execution of these ideas people dislike (Doom Patrol can be extremely shocking but Morrison ending is a heart felt tear jerker) but the status quo is normally either reset to where it was before he started or is reset to where the original concepts based in. Also a lot his endings are happy or end on a note thats not sour but give the feeling of a better tomorrow. Most the time Morrison puts the toys back where they were if you will. A lot of dislike for his work I see lately is for his Batman (which I like) and Final Crisis (which I don’t). Also, I don’t think Morrison gets bored, I think he gets distracted. His ideas firing off too much to stay focused. I never heard that Fantastic 4 story, sounds dumb. As for WW, I’m looking forward to it. Some creator’s bad works still have crazy ideas and concepts and can be more fun then some writers good works.

  4. Your Senior Drill Instructor Says:

    The thing I’m concerned about is that Morrison said that he drew inspiration from a lot of feminist literature he’s read and that this book is primarily targeted at mothers and teenaged girls. Doesn’t sound like something I’d want to read but I’m a huge Morrison fan so I’m going to check it out regardless. I’m most interested in seeing his take on the Diana/Steve relationship.

Leave a Reply

