Gal Gadot To Play Wonder Woman In The Man Of Steel Sequel


Variety is reporting that Israeli model and actress Gal Gadot has been cast as Wonder Woman in the upcoming Man of Steel sequel.  They even have a quote from Zack Snyder, so you know that this is the real deal.  Snyder says:

Wonder Woman is arguably one of the most powerful female characters of all time and a fan favorite in the DC Universe. Not only is Gal an amazing actress, but she also has that magical quality that makes her perfect for the role. We look forward to audiences discovering Gal in the first feature film incarnation of this beloved character.

Gal Gadot is probably best known for her work in several of the Fast & Furious movies.  She also won the Miss Israel title in 2004, starred in some Israeli TV series, and appeared in Date Night, Entourage, and Knight and Day.  That’s about all she’s done, really, so this is quite an impressive step up.

In most cases, I’d be concerned about someone known primarily for her modeling being cast as Wonder Woman, but Gadot served in the Israeli army for two years so I’m guessing she’s more than tough enough to play Diana.  She’s also a big fan of action sequences, and did a lot of her own stunts in the latest Fast & Furious movie.  I’ve never seen her in anything, so I don’t know anything about her acting skills, but I think that physically she could be a good fit for the role.  Whether or not she can capture Wonder Woman is the bigger question, of course, and one that won’t be answered until we see the movie.

On the plus side, the last beauty pageant winner who played Wonder Woman turned out pretty fantastic.  On the negative side, Man of Steel was the wooooooooooooorst and Zack Snyder is generally terrible at female characters.  But regardless, Wonder Woman is going to be in the movies!  That’s ridiculously cool.  I sincerely hope they don’t screw it up; I’m like 87% sure they will screw it up, but I sincerely hope they don’t.

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Gal Gadot To Play Wonder Woman In The Man Of Steel Sequel”

  1. Spider1982 Says:

    Gal Gadot-She is pretty….she needs to wear blue contact lenses to look like Wonder Woman. Wonder Woman does not have brown eyes…her eyes are blue.

  2. Zammael Says:

    I would’ve gone with Gia Carano from Haywire instead. She looks like an amazon already and legitimately can kick your ass.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      She might have been an interesting choice. I loved Haywire, and she’s great at action, but I don’t know if she’s got the acting chops to pull off Wonder Woman.

  3. IronBerserk Says:

    87% sure they’ll screw it up? They already did by casting her as a cameo. Now if they changed the title of the movie as Trinity: Worlds’ Finest, now that would be cool.

  4. Your Senior Drill Instructor Says:

    She’s got a really pretty face, but she needs to put on some weight. I’m with you, Tim. Glad that WW is coming to the big screen but it sucks that Snyder is at the helm of this project.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      She does seem pretty slender right now, but I’m sure they’ll have her training lots right away. Wonder Woman should have a bit of muscle definition, I think.

  5. Rocky Says:

    I’m quite happy with the choice for WW. And I personally LOVED Man of Steel and I even liked “Sucker Punch” which, to be frank suffered from poor execution (and not poor female characterization). It was, to be clear, the female characterizations that made Sucker Punch enjoyable for me to watch.
    Having said this, I acknowledge that I am in the minority on enjoying Sucker Punch, but Snyder did a great job with Man of Steel and his confidence is only growing.
    I can’t wait for this movie and I expect that WW’s character will be handled in a way that respects the greatness of the character.
    I do not expect her role to be significant though. I expect it to be more subtle, with hints of her true identity and strengths….. ultimately teasing and testing the waters for what we all hope will result in a JLA movie.
    Life is good🙂

  6. Karl Says:

    Ive never heard of this woman [and my computer has only just been repaired so am very late replying to this news] but I will give her the benefit of the doubt until we se her in action.
    I have a feeling it will only be a cameo appearance in this Supes vs Bats movie though.

Leave a Reply

