Speculation About The Origin Of The Amazons In The Man Of Steel Sequel Is Masquerading As Rumour/Fact


Consider this a public service announcement.  Many outlets have been reporting the following story as a bona fide rumour for the Man of Steel sequel from a knowledgeable source, but fear not.  It’s just speculation.  Here’s the original piece of conjecture from Batman on Film:

With all that said, I’d bet a year’s pay – in MONOPOLY money, of course – that the “Amazons” of this cinematic DCU will be descendants of those “ancient Kryptonians” who attempted to set up Kryptonian outposts throughout spacedom thousands and thousands of years ago. Furthermore, I say that Wonder Woman will be powered-down, if you will, relative to Superman because these Amazons have evolved and adapted to living on Earth for hundreds of centuries. And since Kryptonians are produced without any “He’n and She’n” – Jor El and Lara excluded – couldn’t this original Kryptonian on Earth have used this reproductive science to create an all-female race? I say yes!

Which sounds absolutely awful.  A depowered Wonder Woman with Kryptonian origins instead of her full powers and her own history would be terrible.  Nobody wants a Wonder Woman who is just an extension of the Superman mythos.

Luckily, the above is 100% speculation and not based on any inside information whatsoever.  The post’s writer, Jett, later clarified:

Apparently, several outlets picked up on what I wrote in the mailbag below – especially my take on how Amazons might be explained in BATMAN VS. SUPERMAN – and claimed that I was reporting it as fact and/or that it was a “rumor” I had heard.

They. Are. All. WRONG.

The mailbag is between me the fans of BOF with me answering questions with a mix of industry scuttlebutt, inside info, and MY OPINION! Nothing more and I’ve been doing this sort of mailbag for years. I get that people are starved for BvS information, but a lot of sites are taking what I wrote in the mailbag and clearly twisting my words! Either that, or they didn’t read the thing and are simply responding to another outlet’s incorrect report! Thanks to the outlets who ran the story and CLEARLY STATED that I CLEARLY STATED it was all speculation and my opinion.

So there…just setting the damn record straight. This isn’t a rumor, nor is it inside info. It’s nothing more than me guessing how Goyer and Snyder might characterize Wonder Woman and the origin of the Amazons. Carry on…

So we don’t need to be concerned.  I mean, we sort of do.  This is a Zack Snyder movie, and he’s not great at female characters and/or interesting plots and/or good movies.  But in this particular instance, it’s just some dude spitballing a few ideas about how he thinks the Amazons MIGHT be portrayed.  We can all relax.  I know we’re all desperate for information on what they’ll do with Wonder Woman in the Man of Steel sequel, but we should probably wait for actual information.

People sure do seem keen on having a proper Wonder Woman, though, which is nice to see.  This story got posted everywhere, with much outrage across the board.  Hopefully Snyder and Goyer appreciate the spotlight they’re under and the extremely high expectations as they create the first big screen Wonder Woman.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Speculation About The Origin Of The Amazons In The Man Of Steel Sequel Is Masquerading As Rumour/Fact”

  1. Bob Says:

    Thank goodness! If/when she gets her own film i hope they go with her “clay” origin. I really want to see that on film. I’m not fond of her n52 story

  2. IronBerserk Says:

    Yeah, figured they wouldn’t do a stupid origin like that. I mean, Wonder Woman as a cameo is bad enough…not getting her own origin, that’s just insulting.

    Clay or daughter of Zeus? I think the clay origin is also more interesting and the best option. But it’s also very old now. We definitely need an update on that specific origin. New 52 daughter of Zeus is a change I didn’t mind as much as some fans…especially when Azzarello revealed her hidden God like abilities under the cuffs😛 Which is weird because you would think that a clay that got all the powers of the major gods would be more powerful than a simple daughter of Zeus. Zeus powers vs. multiple god powers…hmmm, why does it seem as if n52 WW is stronger than the last iteration?

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      The origin I like best is the original one, where Wonder Woman wasn’t specially gifted but developed powers and abilities from living in a feminist utopia. I doubt they’ll go with that🙂 I wouldn’t be surprised to see something more like the New 52, though. The studio thinks she’s “tricky”, and Zeus’ daughter is a simpler approach.

  3. Karl Says:

    This new ‘movie origin’ is an abomination, not to mention an aberration.
    For me, the ‘Nu52’ isn’t much better either, it lacks any distinct clarity or respect for Diana herself.
    As far as Im concerned. her Golden and Silver Age origins are the only, the truly ONLY appropriate Wonder Woman origin,, never mind the actual AUTHENTIC one. Its disrespectful to suggest other wise, if you ask me.
    Next thing we know, Superman will actually have been born in Kansas and Bruce Wayne is a gay robot from the future – lets destroy ALL of the DC legacy while we’re at it!

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I feel like there’s some wiggle room for the exact mechanisms of Wonder Woman’s origins, but the core for me is the Amazons as a distinct and special society that creates such a heroine. I’m not married to the clay, so much as an Amazon heritage of female power.

Leave a Reply

