Listen To Me Talk About The History Of Wonder Woman On The Word Balloon Podcast

wordballoonIt was my great pleasure to be on the Word Balloon podcast, hosted by John Siuntres, to talk about Wonder Woman’s history and Wonder Woman Unbound. I’m a huge fan of the show, and I listen to it all the time. I’m particularly fond of John’s fireside chats with Matt Fraction and his interviews with Greg Rucka that inevitably turn into them talking about Sherlock Holmes for an hour. His interviews are always in-depth and enjoyable to listen to, and it was a huge honour to be on the show.

It was also a lot of fun. We talked about behind the scenes stuff in the early days of Wonder Woman, innocuous stories in the Silver Age, Denny O’Neil and Mike Sekowsky’s well-intentioned but ultimately disastrous mod revamp of Wonder Woman in 1968, and how DC’s had trouble figuring out how to best make use of such a great character in the Modern Age. I’ve recorded a couple of podcasts lately and definitely confirmed for myself that I was wise to go into writing instead of talking, but John was great to chat with and I had a really good time.

Though I did almost die. FUN FACT: I had a drink of water and it went down the wrong hole so I had to hack and cough and wheeze until normal breathing functions were restored. But hooray for editing! I’m sure John made it seem like I was a fully functional human being capable of breathing and drinking without calamity ensuing, even though I clearly am not.

So thanks so much to John Siuntres for having me on the podcast! Go give it a listen.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

