New Digital First Series, Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman, To Debut In August


FINALLY. First, we had Legends of the Dark Knight. Then we had Adventures of Superman. Now we’ve got Sensation Comics featuring Wonder Woman, an all new, digital first series that premieres this August. The stories will appear first online, on a weekly basis, and be collected each month in a print comic. The book is out of continuity, so you don’t need to worry about Amazons raping dudes or Wonder Woman’s romance with Superman. It’s just straight up, Wonder Woman fun.

Here’s the solicit and cover for the first print issue; this is Van Sciver’s cover, and Jimenez’s cover is the image at the top (as a sidenote, you really ought to click on the Jimenez image to see a bigger version… it’s a gorgeous trip through Wonder Woman’s history):


1:25 Variant cover by PHIL JIMENEZ
On sale AUGUST 20 • 40 pg, FC, $3.99 US • RATED T
Diana Prince: Amazon warrior, ambassador to Man’s world, or champion of women in need? All of the above! This digital-first anthology series will bring some of comics’ greatest talents to Themyscira, and give them leave to explore Diana, her world – and ours!
Gail Simone and Ethan Van Sciver kick things off when Oracle calls for help after the entire Bat-Family gets sidelined. But when Wonder Woman steps into the breach, Gotham City’s criminals get the surprise of their lives! Then, Amanda Deibert and Cat Staggs take Diana to school, where she meets her biggest fan!

So this sounds like a LOT of fun. First up, Gail Simone is back writing Wonder Woman, which should warm the hearts of many. She’s also paired with a high profile artist in Ethan van Sciver. Plus, Oracle is in the story! I’ve missed Oracle a lot. So yeah, this is a big team to kick off the book, and a visit to Gotham is always exciting.

I’m not very familiar with Amanda Deibert, but she’s done some television, film, and comics work before, including a story in Womanthology. She’s paired with Cat Staggs, who does the Smallville Season 11 covers each month as well as occasional interior art.

IGN has a full report on the new series, which includes a list of other creators we can expect to see as the series goes on. These include Lauren Beukes, Cecil Castellucci, Caitlin Kittredge, James Tynion IV, Georges Jeanty, and Chris Sprouse.

I love the idea of having creators come in and tell their own short stories about a character, free from current continuity or having to fit in with anyone else’s work. Legends of the Dark Knight and Adventures of Superman have both produced a lot of really cool work, and I’m excited to see what will come out of Sensation Comics. This series is long overdue, and Wonder Woman is particularly well-suited for this kind of book. There are so many different versions of the character, and so many historical settings to play with. You could go with a World War Two adventure, or a Silver Age battle with a flock of pterodactyls, or a 1970s women’s lib tale. Plus the entire world of Greek myth is there to play with as well. The potential is massive, and I’m sure the creators who are signed up to work on the book have their imaginations in overdrive crafting cool stories for Wonder Woman.

So look for Sensation Comics featuring Wonder Woman to debut digitally sometime in August, and the first print issue to hit August 20. I’m not sure how I’ll go about reviewing them, whether to do short weekly reviews or a bigger monthly one, but you can be sure I’ll be all over it!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “New Digital First Series, Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman, To Debut In August”

  1. Ainhoa Cadena Says:

    Hello, Tim! I`m Ainhoa, and I`m a BIG fan of Wonder Woman! I never miss any post in STRAITENED CIRCUMSTANCES, and I`m sooo GLAD that they`ve FINNALY given us a hint that they at least do care about her fans! I can`t wait for this all-new Sensation Comics–with GAIL SIMONE!

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      Hi, Ainhoa! Thanks so much for reading. I agree that it’s nice to see DC finally do something cool with Wonder Woman. Inviting Gail Simone back to launch the book was smart, and the creators they’ve got lined up for future issues sound fun so far.

  2. Popper Most Says:

    Gail and Chris Sprouse is a combo I like❤ Ethan's not my cup of tea. I wish we could just forget Diana Prince, her role as an ambassadress and all of the sanctimoniousness though. I actually prefer the succubi man-hating amazons, they're human and every bit as strong as man without relying on divine providence. The former amazons were stupendous because the Gods made them so, it's actually very uninspiring since God didn't make me. I think it's rather nice to see women rape men for once though they didn't rape them per se the sailors were glad to have ladies to share the night with. Her new supporting cast is young, vibrant, fun and I can't go back now, I really think Wonder Woman and her mythos were in dire need of a makeover, this stuff actually feels like now thanks to Lord Chiang whereas I'm looking at Jimenez's cover and it feels really old plus I personally hate those 2 pointy edges between her tits in the new wonder woman design, that detail drives me nuts, why can't they just do it like Chiang does it. Regardless I'm really looking forward to this and I hope with all my heart it outsells Soule's maudlin bullshit.

  3. IronBerserk Says:

    Day 1 buy for me, but that should be obvious. You see Tim, you finally got the straight up WW super hero fun stories you were soooo asking for…and you were all worried😛 LMAO!

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      DC must’ve been listening to my complaining all these months and started to feel bad that I was missing the fun, superhero Wonder Woman. I think it’s pretty clear that they created this book just for me🙂

  4. g2-cafb8edf6ae3ee604aac2d55812e7431 Says:

    yes but where is greg ruck?!

Leave a Reply

