A Look At August’s Superman/Wonder Woman #11 Selfie Variant Cover

It’s quite the week for Wonder Woman variant covers! Today we’ve got a peek at DC’s August line of selfie variants, a silly idea that I sort of love just because it’s so goofy. It reeks of “Hey, you know what the kids are into these days?” but I’m still into it; it’s fun, and it’s nice to see the characters smile for a change.

Yesterday, Tony S. Daniel revealed his selfie variant for Superman/Wonder Woman #11, and I’ve got to be honest with you: It’s a little bit cute:


I absolutely hate this relationship, but come on. This is a fun cover. And a pleasant break from all the dark, “Doomed” stuff that’s been dominating the book’s covers lately. I could do with less cleavage from Wonder Woman; that’s a lot of chest. But apart from that, I don’t mind it. I sort of like it even.

The selfie variant for Wonder Woman #34 hasn’t been released yet, but it’s going to be drawn by Terry and Rachel Dodson so you know it’ll be great. They always do a fantastic job with Wonder Woman, and I’ll put up that cover as soon as I see it.

Superman/Wonder Woman #11 is out in August, so talk to your local comic shop about getting this cover if you’re interested. Variants can be hard to find.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “A Look At August’s Superman/Wonder Woman #11 Selfie Variant Cover”

  1. darkteddyknight52 Says:

    In this and the Batman/Superman selfie Superman is always taking the picture I like this playfulness to Superman and hope it finds its way into the comics same for Wonder Woman kissing Clark all over his face ever think she do a thing like that

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I totally agree. I miss a happy Superman.

      • Kate Says:

        Honestly what works about this piece is that it could have been taken pre new 52.

        They were besties then and I could have easily seen them taking this picture in the sky as best buddies. That’s why it’s good. It’s actually true to their history.

  2. Popper Most Says:

    Yeah I like it. Obviously her breast plate is made of tinfoil, she needs to trim her nails and Superman kind of dominates the cover but none of this is new. To me her head looks abnormally small compared to Superman’s and with those bright blue eyes he just stands out, it’s symptomatic. Otherwise it’s a beautiful piece, Superman looks super handsome and the lighting on his face is masterful. I wanna see all the selfies so freaking desperately, it’s nice seeing this scowling mofos do stupid normal stuff

  3. Comic Book Nerd (@SJ_Mitchell1975) Says:

    I love this variant. It’s fun, happy and playful. It’s nice to see them enjoying each other’s company without a care outside of what they’re doing. This is poster worthy and deserves a place on my wall.

    Side Note: The complaint about Wondy’s cleavage is, in my opinion, a claim that she’s in need of a costume change. Let’s face it, it’s revealing and you can’t restrict the artist from drawing certain angles because her costume would show too much.

    Maybe it’s time to cover her up a bit?

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I don’t think that the costume is inherently the problem. If you look at how Chiang draws her top, it sits higher and you don’t actually get any cleavage, while Daniels cuts it lower down and you do get cleavage, especially from higher angles. I think it’s an issue of placement.

Leave a Reply

