Wonder Woman’s October 2014 Covers And Solicits

October is going to be a busy and significant month for Wonder Woman. Not only are Brian Azzarello and Cliff Chiang wrapping up their run on Wonder Woman, they’re unveiling her New 52 origin story in Secret Origins as well. Wonder Woman’s two other series have new issues as well, so let’s get to the solicits. First up, Wonder Woman #35:

ww35

WONDER WOMAN #35
Written by BRIAN AZZARELLO
Art and cover by CLIFF CHIANG
MONSTERS Variant cover by AARON LOPRESTI
On sale OCTOBER 15 • 32 pg, FC, $2.99 US • RATED T
It’s the grand finale of the historic WONDER WOMAN epic by writer Brian Azzarello and artist Cliff Chiang! Saying more would spoil all the surprises – and there will be plenty!

Well, we’ve got no information whatsoever. But we’ve got an amazing cover from Cliff Chiang that showcases Wonder Woman and all of the book’s prominent female characters. Zola in a Wonder Woman shirt is awesome, and it looks like Aleka is sporting Wonder Woman’s Hephaestian armour. I wonder if she’ll be wearing the armour inside the book too? This book would be worth buying just for this great cover, but the inside should be something special too. I’m excited to see how Azzarello and Chiang wrap up their run. I’ve had my issues with their time on the book, but there’s been a lot of good too and I’m really hoping that they bring it home in spectacular fashion.

Azzarello and Chiang are back again a week later with Secret Origins #6:

secretorigins6

SECRET ORIGINS #6
Written by BRIAN AZZARELLO, CLIFF CHIANG, J.M. DeMATTEIS and CULLEN BUNN
Art by CLIFF CHIANG, GORAN SUDZUKA, KEVIN STOKES, IGOR LIMA and RUY JOSE
Cover by LEE BERMEJO
On sale OCTOBER 22 • 48 pg, FC, $4.99 US • RATED T
The same month the acclaimed creative team on WONDER WOMAN exits that book, they arrive to tell the Amazon Warrior’s secret origin! Plus, the beginnings of Deadman by J.M. DeMatteis and Kevin Stokes, and Sinestro’s origin by series writer Cullen Bunn and artist Igor Lima!

Oh man, that Bermejo cover is nice. I love Bermejo’s art, and this is a fierce work of beauty. And, seeing as we’ve got no plot details again, the cover is all we can really talk about. Luckily, it’s a great cover. Bermejo’s done some epic, iconic images with this series thus far, and his Wonder Woman is a fantastic addition to the line.

It also looks like Goran Sudzuka will be helping out Cliff Chiang with the art, which makes sense given that Chiang has his Wonder Woman finale to finish. This should be an interesting issue; Azzarello’s track record with the Amazons has not been good, so I’m a little bit worried about how he’ll handle Wonder Woman’s origin. That being said, I’m still eager to check it out.

Here’s a book I’m less eager for, Superman/Wonder Woman #12:

sww12

SUPERMAN/WONDER WOMAN #12
Written by CHARLES SOULE
Art by JACK HERBERT
Cover by TONY S. DANIEL
MONSTERS Variant cover by BILL SIENKIEWICZ
On sale OCTOBER 8 • 32 pg, FC, $3.99 US • RATED T
“SUPERMAN: DOOMED AFTERMATH”! Diana recovers from the events of DOOMED, and the sacrifices and betrayals made. Is love lost?

“Is love lost?” I sure hope so! Please do that, DC! I am loathe to read more “Doomed” stuff, but if it means Wonder Woman and Superman are through than I am all over it.

It’s an interesting art mix this issue. I have never heard of Jack Herbert, and I read the solicits every month, so this could be fun. I like checking out new work. Tony Daniel’s cover looks really phoned in, which is disappointing, but Bill Sienkiewicz is doing a monsters variant cover and that should be AMAZING.

Finally, we’ve got Sensation Comics #3:

sensation3

SENSATION COMICS FEATURING WONDER WOMAN #3
Written by GILBERT HERNANDEZ and SEAN E. WILLIAMS
Art by GILBERT HERNANDEZ and MARGUERITE SAUVAGE
Cover by IVAN REIS and JOE PRADO
On sale OCTOBER 15 • 40 pg, FC, $3.99 US
When Wonder Woman allows an other dimensional science-villain to capture her, she expects to swiftly deal with his android minions and save the day. But he’s able to brainwash her and that’s when things go haywire! Then, back on Earth, we share a rare moment from Diana’s rock-star days.

I put this up last week when it was revealed earlier, but I’m putting it up again just to have everything in one place. I’m very, very, very excited for this issue, and am generally so excited that this book exists.

Check out all of these books in stores or online this October! It should be a fun month for Wonder Woman fans.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Wonder Woman’s October 2014 Covers And Solicits”

  1. Popper Most Says:

    Chiang’s is just perfect, gorgeous and seeing all the girls lined up behind Wonder Woman for a class portrait is as nostalgic and beautiful as befits the occasion. I think no one will ever draw a Wonder Woman as awesome as the one I’m seeing. I honestly think Chiang and Steve Rude are the closest ones to perfection.

    I was expecting so much more from Tony Daniel after he put on facebook that he’d found a new gear for this one, it’s not a good one at all. Wonder Woman was pushed to the back while Superman’s well on the front as per usual, her face is weird, he could’ve redone the face I think until he nailed it. Strife now has a massive rack as well.

    Ivan Reis is way better than this, it’s like he couldn’t be arsed

    As for Sensation Comics she kind of looks like Lorde, I like it, she looks properly fierce and everything, I just wish he’d done the leather horse riding boots covering the knees

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      It’s definitely going to be hard to top Cliff Chiang’s work on Wonder Woman. He captures Diana perfectly. I’ll be so sad when he’s gone.

      • ChristianNYC Says:

        While I think Chang’s art is ok I don’t think.it’s perfect I love Garcia.Lopez and the Dodsons art way more

  2. Ainhoa Cadena Says:

    Oh, man, I love Chiang since I first saw his art in The Brave & The Bold “Ladies` Night”. The “Ladies` Night” was fun and the art was just perfect and amazing. When I heard that he was going to team-up with Azzarello for the New 52`s Wonder Woman, I was very happy and I almost stopped breathing!
    I`m excited and intriged for what would Azzarello and Chaing bring up in their last issue… The cover is so good and it`s all girls!
    Since the cover has a cool Wonder Woman and a lot of cool girls…I`m hoping that women unite all together to defeat the First Born and Wonder Woman getting the upper hand on him.
    And ATHENA, where the heck is she? It is a coincidence that the goddess of wisdom and strategy is missing in the Olympus of Wonder Woman?
    Maybe one of the surprises is Athena showing up!!! A friend of mine told me that maybe Wonder Woman`s Athena! That would be crazy. right? And that would be crazily good! Hey, BUT THIS IS ONLY MY FRIEND`S SPECULATION.

    Also, I got around my Greek mythos` books and the Internet lately, and I discovered information about that Nemesis mentioned in the solicits of Future`s End!!

    Nemesis is the goddess of retributive justice and divine revenge. She took revenge for those to did not mantained their oaths, indisciplined children, but specially those who did not obeyed the gods.
    I speculate that, as Wonder Woman`s justice was based in loving authority justice in the 1940s…maybe she will have conflict with Nemesis, the goddess of revenge.

Leave a Reply

