Wonder Woman: Futures End #1 Preview OR I Have No Idea What’s Happening Here

DC’s “Futures End” event is entering its third week, and I haven’t got a clue what’s going on because I don’t particularly care about a hypothetical future that’s not going to happen and that looks, quite frankly, generally bad. But this week we’re getting a double shot of Wonder Woman with both Wonder Woman and Superman/Wonder Woman coming out in a sort of two-parter written by Charles Soule, and I always read the Wonder Woman books.

We’ve got a preview of Wonder Woman: Futures End #1 from Man Cave Daily; I feel like I’ve complained about putting a Wonder Woman preview on a website called Man Cave Daily before, so I’ll spare you all the redundant tirade. Anyway, here’s a six page look at the book, available this Wednesday with a fancy motion cover:

wwfuture1a wwfuture1b wwfuture1d wwfuture1e wwfuture1f wwfuture1g

First things first, this is inarguably the most boring Wonder Woman costume of all time. It’s jeans and a tank top, drawn as dully and uninterestingly as possible. Moreover, the art seems out of sync with how we know Wonder Woman works. For example, when Wonder Woman manifests her swords we should get a cool, blue Kirby krackle, not flames. The art here is generally uninspiring.

Also, I don’t know what is happening here. I have no idea where or what Koronoor is, I don’t know why Wonder Woman is dressed so badly, I don’t know why she’s fighting alongside a Viking and a World War Two soldier, and I don’t know what those black monsters are. Based on the solicits, I assume the monsters work for Nemesis, the big bad of Wonder Woman’s Futures End arc, but other than that I am all sorts of lost. This may be my own fault, seeing as I’m not keeping up with any of the other books or the weekly series. But as a casual reader of this event, I’m very confused.

What’s worse, I’m not particularly interested in reading the rest of the issue. Six pages is a lot of space to grab a reader, and I am entirely ungrabbed. The art is bland, the writing is not at all helping me understand what is happening and why, and given that this is a story that will never actually happen in real continuity, everything about it is screaming “You don’t need to care about this!” I’ll get it anyway, of course. I’m a Wonder Woman enthusiast, occasionally to my own detriment. But this preview has had the opposite effect on me that a preview should ideally have.

Hopefully the rest of the book picks up from here and things start making sense soon. Superman/Wonder Woman: Futures End #1 is also out this week to shed further light on these mysterious circumstances. We don’t have a preview for that yet, but maybe that’ll come tomorrow. Both comics are available on Wednesday, as is the print version of Sensation Comics featuring Wonder Woman #2, so at least I’ve got one Wonder Woman book to look forward to.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Wonder Woman: Futures End #1 Preview OR I Have No Idea What’s Happening Here”

  1. Green Says:

    http://t.co/Wz1nC4QzlD here is the preview for superman/wonder woman . crap alert http://t.co/Wz1nC4QzlD

  2. Anonymous Says:

    The Futures End main story is better than I expected. I reluctantly started reading it because students in a comics club I sponsor were asking to read it. None of the one-shots I’ve read have been worth my time or money. I’ve found them confusing and/or boring and pointless. I’ll keep buying the main story for the students but am dropping all of the one-shots.

  3. 1derwymin Says:

    I disagree on her costume. I think she looks great: it is practical and functional. True, this should not be her regular uniform, but as a one-shot I think they did great to diversify from her usual bathing suit.

Leave a Reply

