Wonder Woman’s January 2015 Comic Covers And Solicits

DC Comics’ full January solicits went up yesterday, and Wonder Woman’s got a lot on the go with her three regular series. I thought that we might see the print version of the new Wonder Woman ’77 set for January as well, but it’s not on the list. Perhaps in February.

But we’ve got three other books I am looking forward to on a scale that ranges from “Not At All” to “Quite A Lot.” Let’s start with the book I’m least looking forward to, Wonder Woman #38:

janww38

WONDER WOMAN #38
Written by MEREDITH FINCH
Art and cover by DAVID FINCH and RICHARD FRIEND
THE FLASH 75 Variant cover by TERRY DODSON and RACHEL DODSON
1:50 B&W Variant cover by DAVID FINCH and RICHARD FRIEND
1:100 Variant cover by DAVID FINCH and RICHARD FRIEND
On sale JANUARY 21 • 32 pg, FC, $2.99 US • RATED T
With her people against her, Wonder Woman has left Paradise Island more uncertain of her intentions than ever before! And with only the mantle of God of War to turn to, she’s challenged to give that up!

Well, that’s certainly an interesting cover. A berserker, blood spattered god of war Wonder Woman. Yeesh. That is not an appealing image.

As for the story, it sounds like Wonder Woman and the Amazons are having a bit of a spat. We’ve seen that sort of story done about 78 times before, including in the run that immediately preceded the Finches taking over, so that seems like an odd choice. It’s hard to have a fresh take on something that’s been done to death. Some month, I’d like Wonder Woman to have a really nice time in her own book for a change. Things go well, her family and friends are kind and helpful, and she takes out a bad guy and saves the day. No rage, no blood, no betrayal, just a pleasant day of superheroing. I know, it’ll never happen.

Onto Superman/Wonder Woman #15, which I remain very curious about:

jansww15

SUPERMAN/WONDER WOMAN #15
Written by PETER J. TOMASI
Art and cover by DOUG MAHNKE
THE FLASH 75 Variant cover by IVAN REIS
On sale JANUARY 14 • 32 pg, FC, $3.99 US • RATED T
Combo pack edition: $4.99 US
Wonderstar’s destiny is starting to become clear – and his path may lead to the end of humanity! Will Superman and Wonder Woman be able to prevent him from becoming what – or who – he’s meant to be?

I love that Superman is getting blasted on the cover while Wonder Woman remains unharmed. That’s a fun change from what we’ve seen in past Superman/Wonder Woman covers.

Also, random sidenote, is it just me or does Wonder Woman look like the gal from The Blacklist on that cover?

I know absolutely nothing about this run or the new Wonderstar character on account of Tomasi and Mahnke don’t even start on the book until next month, but here’s my theory on what’s going down: Wonderstar is either Superman and Wonder Woman’s kid from the future and/or an alternate universe, or it’s some kind of mixed clone thing that’s half Wonder Woman and half Superman. Either way, I think they’ll have some parental connection to this new character, and that’s why they’re so involved with him. We’ll see how it plays out over the next few months. I’m probably absolutely wrong, but you never know.

Finally, the book I am most excited for, Sensation Comics featuring Wonder Woman #6:

jansens5

SENSATION COMICS FEATURING WONDER WOMAN #6
Written by MICHAEL JELENIC and ADAM P. KNAVE
Art by DREW JOHNSON, RAY SNYDER and MATTHEW DOW SMITH
Cover by PAUL DAVEY
On sale JANUARY 21 • 40 pg, FC, $3.99 US • RATED T • DIGITAL FIRST
Hippolyta’s first rule of war is demonstrated in “Generations,” as Diana and Cheetah battle over a phoenix egg – and its promise of immortality! Then Diana and Big Barda fight the awesome menace of robot gorillas in “Not Included.”

This cover isn’t doing much for me, but here’s what I’m excited about: BIG BARDA. I LOVE Big Barda, and a Big Barda/Wonder Woman team up is everything I could possibly want in a comic book. Plus they’re fighting ROBOT GORILLAS. Sign me up. This is already THE comic book of 2015 for me.

And there’s a Cheetah story too! Talk about bang for your buck. In a world of New 52 darkness, Sensation Comics is the gift that keeps on giving.

I will say that I’m a little bit disappointed at the lack of female creators, though. Usually Sensation Comics is good for at least one somewhere in the mix. Hopefully there’ll be some in February.

Look for all of these Wonder Woman comics in January online or at fine comic book shops everywhere!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Wonder Woman’s January 2015 Comic Covers And Solicits”

  1. Ben Herman: In My Not So Humble Opinion Says:

    If I was able to post an image here of Grumpy Cat stating “No” in response to that Wonder Woman #38 cover then I certainly would :-p

    On the other hand, I’m looking forward to Sensation Comics #6. It could be great to have WW and Big Barda teamed up again.

    Speaking of Sensation, I’m bummed that the print edition of issue #3 is not coming out for yet another week, on October 29th. I really want to see Diana drawn by Gilbert Hernandez.

  2. Flossie Says:

    Admiring the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you provide.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a
    while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m
    including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

