DC’s Convergence Event Is Set To Bring Back Several Currently Missing And/Or Altered Female Characters


I have not been at all excited for Convergence since it was officially announced a couple of weeks ago. A fill-in event that’s all about dredging up old characters to make them fight and such did not strike my fancy at all. I thought it would be an excellent couple months off from DC for me, where I could use my usual DC comic money to try out some new books from other publishers. But just when I thought I was out, they pulled me back in.

DC’s announced 10 two-part mini-series that tie into the Convergence weekly series, and a lot of them sound kind of awesome. Largely because they’re bringing back some great female characters who have been changed or entirely lost since the New 52 began. So now I am intrigued! Let’s take a look at who’s coming back, however briefly:

  • A married Lois Lane! In a book by Dan Jurgens, Lee Weeks, and Norm Rapmund, we’re returning to the pre-New 52 universe where Lois was married to Superman. Lois hasn’t had a lot to do since the relaunch ended her marriage and subsequently sidelined her in most of the Super-books, so while I’m not a huge fan of married Lois Lane, it’ll be nice to see her get something to do for a change.
  • Stephanie Brown Batgirl! She’s Spoiler again now, which is nice, I suppose, but her tenure as Batgirl made for a delightful series and I’m excited to revisit it. Also, Cassandra Cain is going to be in it too! This could be ridiculously fun.
  • Oracle! The recently revamped Batgirl is a delightful series, but I definitely miss Oracle, and am glad to see that Gail Simone is the one bringing her back. She’ll explore her relationship with Nightwing as well, which is a couple I’ve always liked together.
  • Donna Troy! In a new Titans book, presumably with a less ridiculously objectified Starfire. Donna Troy has been MIA since the New 52 debuted, and it will be lovely to have her back. Hopefully this leads to more Donna in the future? They’ve been teasing it for a while.
  • RENEE MONTOYA! This is the best one. She’s back as the Question, written by Greg freaking Rucka with art by Cully Hamner. They’re getting the whole band back together! Rucka’s Montoya stories are some of the best comics of the past decade, and I’m beyond excited for her to come back to her again. Also, we NEED her in the New 52. There is a massive, Montoya shaped hole that no one else is filling.
  • The original Harley Quinn! She’s zany, she’s fun, she doesn’t look like a seedy clown prostitute. The New 52 Harley has not been my jam, so some classic adventures will be a nice respite.

There are also a variety of other female characters mentioned in the solicits for these 10 mini-series, including Hawkwoman, Linda West, Flashpoint Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Zatanna, Jade, Jesse Quick, Catwoman, and Poison Ivy. That is a lot of ladies for ten books, and above and beyond the usual representation we see from DC Comics.

The creator breakdown isn’t great, with 25 men and 3 women, but it is above 10% which is comparatively decent for solicits. Still, it would’ve been nice to see a few more women involved on the creative side of things.

Nonetheless, Renee Montoya is coming back! And Cass Cain! And Oracle! And Donna Troy! I’m going to have to buy a lot of comics for an event I was hoping to avoid, but I’m not even mad about it if it means stories featuring these great characters. And perhaps if they do well, we might see more of them in the future, integrated into the New 52. You never know.

There are more announcements coming, as well. These are just the first 10 of a reported 40 different mini-series that will accompany the Convergence event this April. Maybe we’ll see some cool Wonder Woman books in the mix as more titles are announced.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “DC’s Convergence Event Is Set To Bring Back Several Currently Missing And/Or Altered Female Characters”

  1. Kate Says:

    Married Lois Lane is, in theory, a really important Lois Lane because she vindicates all that sexist crap that women have to choose between marriage and career that women have been fighting for decades on end and that Lois herself fought for years.

    The fact that DC didn’t always have writers who understood why this was so important doesn’t change the fact that Lois and Superman being married and Lois continuing to be really committed to her own job and life was actually a really important thing.

    Married Lois Lane is a great Lois Lane and one I wish had never left continuity.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      In theory, I 100% agree with you. In practice, I found that the marriage rarely worked that way. Once they were married, Lois’ solo reporting adventures took a nosedive and were replaced by marital spats and general wifery. I think that married Lois Lane could have been a great Lois Lane; I love what they did in Lois & Clark, making them more like partners and co-conspirators after Lois realized Clark was Superman and later married him. But the comics themselves didn’t often showcase the marriage well, I don’t think, and thus I didn’t much care for it.

      • Kate Says:

        I don’t think I agree with that. I read the comics regularly over the course of the marriage. Off the top of my head runs by Kurt Busiek, Greg Rucka, Geoff Johns, Gail Simone, Joe Kelly and several others were very committed to Lois in her job. The instances of bad writing with marital bickering were not actually the norm. They were bad writing by sexist writers but I’m not holding that against the marriage anymore than I hold the sexist writing for Wonder Woman throughout portions of her history against her.

        I just think you have to be careful. The idea that marriage doesn’t belong in stories and that it “drags” stories down for women is ultimately a sexist commentary and it’s 100% fixable and something that deserves to be fixed. Female characters, more than men, get remembered for the times they were mistreated more than the times that were good. Was there bad writing during the marriage? Sure. There was also a lot of really great writing with many writers who did right by her.

        As a married working woman myself, it swung way more positive than it did negative and the positive aspect of it and the importance of what it :: could:: be again is way more important than the crappy guys who didn’t respect women enough to do the job they should have.

      • Tim Hanley Says:

        I found that Lois’ job was sort of a background thing, mentioned occasionally but rarely showcased. When Lois did come to the fore, it was usally in a not so flattering way, ie. bickering or just being there to serve Superman’s story. The good stories were Lois was in the spotlight were sort of rare. I should run some numbers on it, really. But yeah, I completely agree that marriage doesn’t inherently drag down female characters. There are good ways to do it. To my recollection, the Super-books didn’t do it terribly well, though.

  2. L. Says:

    I’ve read the marriage era issues of Superman comics more than once, and recently in fact, and I know that it’s actually a false impression on your part that Lois Lane’s job being in the background took up the majority of the writing for her. So do please “run the numbers on it,” because I think you’ll find that you’re being very unfair.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I’m working on some Lois Lane stuff lately and thought that Kate made some interesting points, so I did run the numbers. I used Action Comics as a base. From the relaunch in the late 1980s to the New 52 relaunch in 2011, Lois appeared in the book almost the exact same amount pre- and post-marriage, 68% of the issues though only 14% of the pages. However, before the marriage Lois was working (ie. at the office or out covering a story) in 52% of the issues, and after the marriage this feel to 34% of the issues. Furthermore, Lois was actively investigating a defined story (rather than just sitting around the office talking to Clark, having a cup of coffee, etc.) in 34% of the issues pre-marriage, but only 11% of the issues post-marriage. The marriage era wasn’t without it’s good moments for Lois, of course, but that’s quite a drop off for her workload.

  3. Ben Herman: In My Not So Humble Opinion Says:

    Just found out from June Brigman & Roy Richardson on Facebook last night that they are illustrating a Steel special written by Louise Simonson. I’m thrilled to learn Simonson is being given an opportunity to write Steel again.

    I also learned that the Matrix version of Supergirl is going to be featured in a story by Keith Giffen. Looking forward to that, as well.

Leave a Reply

