Superman/Wonder Woman #13 Preview: A Look At Peter J. Tomasi and Doug Mahnke’s First Issue

It’s quite a week for Wonder Woman fans! Not only does Meredith and David Finch’s Wonder Woman #36 debut tomorrow, so too does Superman/Wonder Woman #13, written by Peter J. Tomasi with art from Doug Mahnke. I wasn’t a big fan of the book’s last creative team, so let’s take a look at what’s coming from the new guys courtesy of Comic Book Resources:





sww13e sww13f

It’s only five pages, and five pages set five years in the past, but this isn’t doing much for me. I hate the idea of a Wonder Woman who thinks that human frailty is a weakness and values fighting over helping people. I know she’s just off the boat from Paradise Island and not used to the wider world in this scene, but for me Wonder Woman is all about compassion, and right from the get go. She doesn’t need to learn it. Caring for others should be the Amazons stock in trade. I know that’s taken a backseat in the New 52 with the Amazons raping and murdering men and whatnot, but this harsh approach to Wonder Woman will never not rub me the wrong way. While I’m sure in the book it will be contrasted with a much more compassionate and caring Wonder Woman in the present, it irks me when creators make her all martial-minded.

I’ve been curious about the art, seeing as Doug Mahnke’s been taking a different approach with his covers, but seeing interiors now for the first time his art looks about the same as it always has. It’s decent art, to be sure, but usually not my cup of tea. It’s perhaps less harsh than it usually is; I find Mahnke’s characters tend to look mean, even the nice ones. I’m curious to check out the rest of the issue. I’m on the fence about it thus far.

Seeing as this preview is set entirely in the past, we still don’t know a lot about the main story. For more, we’ll have to check out Superman/Wonder Woman #13 tomorrow, which will be available in stores and online. I’ll have a review of the issue later in the week, probably on Friday after Wonder Woman tomorrow and Sensation Comics on Thursday.

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Superman/Wonder Woman #13 Preview: A Look At Peter J. Tomasi and Doug Mahnke’s First Issue”

  1. theaveragereader22512 Says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if they try to say that Superman inspired the compassion in Wonder woman. But let’s wait and see

    • Jeppe Dittmer Says:

      Me neither. In fact they already kind of did that during the last WW reboot (the Odyssey storyline) where Dc had Wonder Woman confess to Superman that he taught/inspired her on how to be a hero.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I’m a little bit worried that’s the direction they’re going, but fingers crossed they’re more clever than that.

      • Lettie Says:

        Yes but why did Clark and Diana not go out together earlier in this case? As a reminder, in The New 52 like in pre-Crisis, she has been attracted by Steve Trevor since the start. If she despises the “needy weaklings” that mortals are, I sincerely wonder why she saved him on Paradise Island and what she saw in him for finally falling in love?! Ok, Steve is a soldier like her but he’s mortal like all those men and women that she disdains. I don’t get it! But that’s not new with DC and its contradictions…

  2. Edwin Roman Says:

    I have not read this issue yet, but I completely agree with your points on Wonder Woman’s rather bizarre apathy.

    Also, one of the reasons I started reading this title was the artwork. I am wondering, are they still printing it on that awesome paper? (I have not picked it up yet)

Leave a Reply

