Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #15 Review: “No Chains Can Hold Her! Part 2” by Gilbert Hernandez


Boy oh boy, did I need this comic this week. Wonder Woman and Superman/Wonder Woman debuted new creative teams, and the results were pretty much atrocious. I was underwhelmed, to say the least. It was a rough day all around, and I was feeling pretty down about Wonder Woman comics. Luckily, today has part two of Gilbert Hernandez’s Sensation Comics story, and it is just a blast.

Last week, I had some qualms about Wonder Woman getting brainwashed and Supergirl taking center stage. That plot continued in this issue, with Mary Marvel thrown into the mix to make it a three way fight, but I found that this second issue worked like gangbusters for me. Maybe I’m just jonesing for a fun Wonder Woman story after yesterday, but I thought it was hilarious and great.

Adding Mary Marvel to the super-fight upped the level of absurdity to a hilarious agree. There’s one panel where Wonder Woman and Mary Marvel are tossing Supergirl at each other like she’s a rag doll that made me laugh like crazy. I want to frame it and hang it on my wall, I love it so much.

The fight also resulted in a team up, with Wonder Woman snapping out of her mind control and playing a key role in defeating the aliens. Mary Marvel flew off with Supergirl to help her recover from a Kryptonite ray, so Wonder Woman took down the aliens by herself, and with ease. Also, when Wonder Woman returned to Earth she quickly found herself fighting a gro-bot, and she threw it so far and so high that she was able to sit down and have a full conversation with herself in the time it took the gro-bot to bounce off a satellite and come smashing back down to Earth.

I also love Hernandez’s style in this story. The Silver Age vibe I mentioned last week is a lot of fun, but I also like that he doesn’t draw any of the women in an exploitive way. His Wonder Woman is big and muscled, almost comicly so, in a manner that might look odd in the hands of another artist but that works for me here. Also, his Supergirl and Mary Marvel both look like teenage girls. They’re not curvaceous or sexified at all, as so many teen heroes are in today’s comics. From character designs through to posing, Hernandez’s goal is clearly humour and fun, and that’s a refreshing approach to female heroes.

There’s a line at the end of the issue about Wonder Woman going to get a massage from Superman, but getting irked about that would just be nitpicking because I’m so sick of the Wonder Woman/Superman relationship in the New 52. The issue is so much fun and so amusing, that I’m happy to let that closing line slide.

In terms of publication, I think that most if not all of this story is in the print version of Sensation Comics that came out this week. If someone reading this has a copy, please let me know how much of the story is there in the comments. We got a portion of part one in last month’s print Sensation Comics, and I’m not sure how much of the rest of the story they printed this month. Whatever’s happening, if you’re not getting the book digitally, I heartily recommend picking up the book in paper form to check out this Hernandez story. It’s a total blast, and a lovely antitode to the dour, angry, all around awful depictions of Wonder Woman we got elsewhere this week. Pick it up now!

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #15 Review: “No Chains Can Hold Her! Part 2” by Gilbert Hernandez”

  1. Jeppe Dittmer Says:

    I really enjoyed this story, especially the using supergirl as a human dodgeball part. A lot of the sensation comics have been pretty enjoyable in general, I just wished some of them had a little more substance too them. The last 2 part story “Generations” were great in that respect, but most of these sensation comics have just felt a little too disposable to me. A day in the life of Wonder Woman, but not much else.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I hear you about the lack of substance. I think it’s primarily due to the length. The one part stories are only 10 print comic pages, which really isn’t a lot of space for substantive storytelling. The length is more conducive to quick, fun stories. It’s the nature of the format, I suppose.

      • Jeppe Dittmer Says:

        Yeah I thought that might be the reason as well. Though I suppose it might also have something to do with these stories being one-shots, often set in their own made up continuity. A lot of the early Tom Strong stories were only 8 comic pages long, and as a consequence the first two TPBs in that series feels pretty insubstantial (but enjoyable) when you read them. But as the series moved on you realized that those short seemingly throw away stories where actually setup and world building for future story lines. But the stories in sensation comics aren’t connected at all, so they can’t do something like that.

  2. Max Says:

    The whole story is in the print issue, along with 2 other stories (one where WW is a giant and teams with Hawkman, Hawkwoman and the Atom, and another where she teams Deadman. I loved how much bigger WW’s arms were compared to Captain Marvel.

  3. Ben Herman: In My Not So Humble Opinion Says:

    Gilbert Hernandez’s story was bizarre… but so is nearly everything he does! It was bizarre in a good way. That is why I am really enjoying Sensation Comics. We get to see a variety of approaches to the character of Wonder Woman by a diverse assortment of creators.

  4. Ben Herman: In My Not So Humble Opinion Says:

    Hello again, Tim. Here is a link to my own review of the Gilbert Hernandez story, along with the other stories contained in the print editions of Sensation Comics #3 and #4…

Leave a Reply

