Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #17 Review: “Dig for Fire, Part 2” by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman


After a very strong first issue last week, part two of “Dig for Fire” continued the fun times on Apokalips and added even more mystery to the story. When we last left our Amazon princess, she’d been defeated by a group of Furies and faced certain doom when she was thrown into a fire pit. She was a goner, story’s over, no point in a part two, right? Wrong! Wonder Woman was saved by a scavenger robot operated by a clever society of workers who live underground and salvage weapons and other discarded items to resell them.

The underground scavengers were happy to save Wonder Woman, but were too scared of Darkseid to help her save her Amazon sisters. One, however, was kind enough to put her in the direction of where they’d be. In the end, Wonder Woman was able to save her sisters from execution, but the issue ended with the trio being hotly pursued by the evil hordes of Apokalips.

The story was a great read from start to finish, and also added some extra elements into the mix outside of the rescue plan. The scavengers seem like they might be back next week to play a part in the finale, and while Wonder Woman was with them she saw some items marked LexCorp, which hints at an ominous connection between two of DC’s biggest bad guys. Only having part three left might not be enough time to dig into the Luthor/Apokalips connection too much, but perhaps Bechko and Hardman will return down the road for a second adventure back on Earth where Wonder Woman confronts Luthor. I’d be super down for that.

The writing continues to be strong. It’s also to the point in a way I find very enjoyable. It’s not spartan, but it’s definitely making the most of the limited story length to pack in as much as possible. It’s got big, epic moments and awesome fights without losing the smaller, conversational moments that flesh out the world and the characters. The story has been very solidly constructed thus far.

The art continues to be great, not surprisingly given that the first issue looked very nice. Hardman’s style fits Apokalips well, and he also excels at giving characters their own style and look. Superhero comics can sometimes look homogenous, with almost interchangeable faces and body shapes, but Hardman is good at depicting a whole spectrum of characters.

I also love the shading in the issue. I’m not sure if it was Hardman or colorist Jordan Boyd, but the use of halftone dots for shading instead of simply darker colours adds such a cool style to the book. Marrying this old school colouring technique with Hardman’s modern style makes for a great look. I like sleek colouring as much as the next guy, but it’s fun when people mix it up. I mean, check out this cool scavenger robot:


It’s nice on its own, but I think the stylistic shading really elevates what is already a very solid drawing.

All together, I’m enjoying this story a lot and I’m glad that Bechko and Hardman were given three issues to really get into it. I think it’s one of the best stories we’ve seen in Sensation Comics thus far, and I can’t wait to find out how it ends next week.

Finally, as a reminder, the paper version of this story will be in comics shop everywhere on December 17. I definitely recommend checking it out!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #17 Review: “Dig for Fire, Part 2” by Corinna Bechko and Gabriel Hardman”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Great review. This is probably the best Wonder Woman story I’ve read in years. I love how they “get” the character but in a subtle way unlike most writers who, through lack of subtlety in their writing, seem intent on saying “I get this character! See how I’m writing her? I totally get it!!”. Ugh.

    Instead, Hardman and Bechko just get down to it, with no waste in either writing or art. It’s really efficient and tight and paced excitingly, yet not remotely rushed. It’s not just about good art. While I totally dig Cliff Chiang’s art, I’m not into Azzarello’s writing on WW(although I’ll say that I have really enjoyed Azzarello’s work on other projects). But I am totally into Hardman and Bechko’s WW. I hope they return to the character someday.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I totally agree about Bechko and Hardman getting Wonder Woman without being flashy and obvious about it. It’s just a fun, solid story where Wonder Woman’s being awesome throughout. I can’t wait for the finale!

Leave a Reply

