Gwenda Bond’s Lois Lane: Fallout YA Novel Is Out Today And You Should Go Buy It


When Lois Lane: Fallout was first announced, I was excited but wary. DC treats some of my favourite characters badly in their own publishing division and they own them, so farming out someone as fantastic and often poorly used as Lois had me a bit nervous. I immediately went to the library to get the first Gwenda Bond book I could find to see who we were dealing with here. I found The Woken Gods, and it was pretty great. Kick ass female lead, huge scope but nice small moments as well, lots of fun all around. I was feeling a bit better.

Then I got an advanced copy of Lois Lane: Fallout, and it blew my socks off. It’s Lois in a completely different setting, as a teenager starting high school in Metropolis, with almost an entirely new cast of characters and villains, but it’s so absolutely Lois Lane. Everything I love about all of the different incarnations of the character is distilled into this fearless, tenacious teenager. I devoured the book in one sitting, and have been looking forward to its release day, when everyone else will get a chance to read it.

I’ve got a full review of the book up at The Comics Journal, where I dig into Lois Lane: Fallout and situate it in the context of how Lois has been presented in the past and the current direction DC Comics appears to be heading with Lois and their female characters generally. My thanks to the folks at The Comics Journal for getting on board with the review; it’s a little bit outside of their wheelhouse, but I was keen to get it in front of a comics reading audience and they kindly obliged.

So yeah, go read the book! Lois is such a fantastic, iconic character and it’s so much fun to have her in this new setting. I recommend it even if YA isn’t really your jam; Lois Lane: Fallout is a great bridge between comics and YA. It’s got enough classic comic book elements to please comic book fans while still working well as a fantastic YA novel. If you love Lois Lane, you’re going to love this book.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Gwenda Bond’s Lois Lane: Fallout YA Novel Is Out Today And You Should Go Buy It”

  1. Says:

    find article, document and files

  2. Darci Says:

    Hi Tim,
    Re: ” Courting female fans is now, for the first time in ages, a priority for DC Comics, and their new line-up reflects that. As does their upcoming DC Super Hero Girls initiative, which will focus on new versions of DC’s superheroines aimed at young girls across a variety of platforms beginning in Fall 2015.” from TCJ, what ever happened to this? I don’t recall it at all.

Leave a Reply

