First Image Of Gal Gadot As Diana Prince In Batman v Superman, Plus A Wonder Woman Barbie


The image above is the cover to the new Entertainment Weekly, their special Comic-Con 2015 preview issue. It’s a good look at the Wonder Woman costume in colour instead of muted browns like the shot we got a year ago, and also Gal Gadot in it. We’ve seen some shots of the costume on a mannequin recently, but not on Gadot. The costume continues to grow on me, especially the more I see it in colour. It’s got the red, blue, and gold like a classic Wonder Woman outfit, plus the lasso and the bracelet. I don’t like that she’s carrying a sword in every picture we’ve seen of her, including promotional artwork, and that tiara is still the worst. Seriously, imagine that costume with the classic red starred tiara. It would look fantastic! This tiara is holding back the whole outfit for me.

But we’ve also got a new image of her without the tiara! It’s Gal Gadot as Diana Prince, hanging out at a fancy party with some guy named Bruce Wayne:


Entertainment Weekly‘s description of the image reads:

Batman and Wonder Woman have a meeting of alter-egos as Bruce Wayne and Diana Prince parry and flirt at a high-society function. “I love the fact that there was this Thomas Crowne Affair, Bond-y sexy scene that they wrote about two people who are pretending to be two different people who each know the secrets of the other person,” says Ben Affleck.

It’s cool that Diana and Bruce know each other’s secrets; I’m intrigued about their past, and whether they’ve worked together before. The flirting will be fun for Diana and Bruce shippers, of which there are a great many, thanks to the Justice League cartoon. I’d rather have a movie where the only female superhero wasn’t getting up to romantic hijinks with one of the dudes, but the superhero film industry doesn’t seem to have figured out how to do that yet. Anyway, Diana looks lovely here, and the dress looks pretty classy. They’re clearly going with a secret identity instead of some sort of Diana as a Themysciran ambassador situation, but I doubt she’s going to be a military secretary. Her presence at this fancy soiree, and a few on-set shots we’ve seen, suggest a more well-to-do lifestyle for Diana.

There are some other Batman v Superman images at Entertainment Weekly, but this is the only one that matters.

Along with these pictures, we got a first look at a new Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman Barbie, and it’s pretty cool:


I absolutely want one. It’ll be my first Barbie! Though I do have a big Captain Picard doll that’s about Barbie-sized. The costume looks great here, I love the bright colours, and I really like that she’s smiling. Again, I could do without the sword and the ugly tiara, but that hair is super fierce. I hope all of the Barbies’ hair comes pre-styled all rad like that because there’s no way I’ll ever be able to make mine look like that.

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice is out next March, and it’s probably going to be not great because Zack Snyder, but fingers crossed that Wonder Woman is cool at least. There will be some Wonder Woman Barbies available next weekend at San Diego Comic-Con, but they won’t be in stores until early next year as the movie merchandise starts to roll out. I hope they make a Lois Lane too. I like my toys to have a friend. Well, she can hang out with Captain Picard at least.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “First Image Of Gal Gadot As Diana Prince In Batman v Superman, Plus A Wonder Woman Barbie”

  1. Kate Says:

    I love that Diana Barbie! I do have a gorgeous Lois Lane Barbie from Superman Returns but I want THIS better Lois as a Barbie so they can be girlfriends!

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      I forgot that they made a Superman Returns Lois Barbie! Wasn’t she in a gown or something? A new Lois is proper reporting clothes would be super fun.

  2. Jeppe Dittmer Says:

    It is crazy how much better her costume looks when it is in color. I really love the gold stripe at the bottom of the skirt, it adds a nice sense of cohesion to the whole outfit.
    If they are going with the old Wonder Woman approach, as all the rumors seems to indicate, I hope they turn WW in to the Justice League version of Nick Fury i.e. the primary force responsible for bringing the Justice League together. That would certainly make sense if she is some kind of immortal demigoddess who has been battling supernatural forces long before Batman and Superman were even born.

    • Tim Hanley Says:

      Yeah, the colour is GREAT. I totally agree about the gold trim too. Wonder Woman as Nick Fury could be a fun angle, though I don’t love the immortal demigoddess thing they seem to be going for. But if they’re going to do that, I could see her as the wise, smart one that puts everything together.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    I like the Wonder Woman costume, but the way Gal Gadot is posing makes it look like she’s modeling for one of those sexy, “fill-in-the-profession” Halloween costumes.

Leave a Reply

