Women In Comics Statistics: DC And Marvel, May 2015 In Review


My latest “Gendercrunching” column went up last week on Bleeding Cool, but I’ve been slow to post it because I’ve been on vacation. Aw yeah, cottage in the summer! Except it’s been grey and cloudy all week. I read The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner, though, and it’s GREAT. Check out that series, for sure. Anyway, I’m back momentarily and posting some stats!

DC topped Marvel handily thanks to “Convergence” and two female editors appearing in well over half of all of DC’s books. DC had 25.3% female creators overall, a huge but only momentary total. Things go back to normal in June, and the numbers will drop. Marvel came in at 12.2% female creators overall, a drop from April but a decent total relative to Marvel’s poor showings as of late.

I also stopped by four other, smaller publishers to see how they’re doing in terms of representation. Boom! was down but still tops among all nine publishers we looked at over the past two months with 30% female creators overall. Dynamite came in at 20.6%, a big jump for them and a really great number overall; the “Swords of Sorrow” event spearheaded by Gail Simone helped a lot. Valiant was the pits with 2.2% female creators, but Archie came in at 9.7%, low compared to most other publishers but their best total yet.

I should also point out that I had incomplete numbers for Archie when the May “Gendercrunching” first went up. I didn’t know that the digests had new stories, and I missed the Dark Circle books and a Dark Horse crossover; all dumb mistakes on my part. Again, my apologies to Archie. Everything has been updated to reflect their entire line.

Head on over to Bleeding Cool for all of the “Gendercrunching” stats fun!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

