Wonder Woman Looney Tunes Variant Covers For November 2015

Generally speaking, I don’t care for variant covers. They’re a non-sustainable way to boost sales and confusing when you’re looking through the stacks. But I’ve really grown to love DC’s variant cover program because they’ve made a lot of fun choices. Plus, Wonder Woman’s main titles haven’t been particularly good for a while, and more often than not I find the variant covers far more enjoyable than the book itself. Broadly speaking, the variant covers across DC’s line each month are a little hit and miss, but the Wonder Woman ones tend to turn out pretty great.

Case in point, DC’s recently announced Looney Tunes variant line! Coming out this November, the covers for Wonder Woman and Superman/Wonder Woman are fantastic. Check out this variant cover for Wonder Woman #46 by Terry and Rachel Dodson:


It’s Wonder Woman dressed as a valkyrie singing “Kill the Wabbit” with Elmer Fudd, from the classic Looney Tunes cartoon “What’s Opera, Doc?”. This is literally one of the greatest things I’ve ever seen. I want this to be a poster and I want to hang it on my wall. Or maybe buy a hundred and wallpaper my room with it. It’s so cute and hilarious and gorgeously done. You know you’re guaranteed a good Wonder Woman when the Dodsons are involved, but they’ve outdone themselves this time. I absolutely love it.

Karl Kerschl’s cover for Superman/Wonder Woman #23 is also great:


Much like the Dodsons, Karl Kerschl is a guaranteed good time as well. I love this cover and I don’t even know who the two Looney Tunes characters are. I just adore how he draws Wonder Woman and Superman. Sidenote: How amazing would Karl Kerschl be on a Wonder Woman comic interiors? Anyway, thanks to google I can tell you that the other character on the left if Witch Hazel, but I don’t know much about that green guy. Drop me a note in the comments if you know who he is.

Wonder Woman’s also part of the Justice League #46 cover, by Scott Williams, Alex Sinclair, and Warner Animation:


Yes, that’s Lola Bunny from Space Jam as Wonder Woman. So fun. Also, Looney Tunes are sort of terrible in terms of well known female characters, huh? Lola Bunny is probably their most iconic female character, apart from Tweety’s granny or that cat Pepe le Pew is always harrassing, and she wasn’t created until 1996.

Finally, Wonder Woman is a part of this JLA #6 cover by Howard Porter and Hi-Fi:


It’s fine, but I like the other ones a lot better. They’re far more clever and fun.

Look for all of these covers this November, and be sure to ask ahead at your local comics retailer if there are any specifics ones you’re keen to pick up!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Wonder Woman Looney Tunes Variant Covers For November 2015”

  1. Wendy W Says:

    He looks like the mad scientist who created Gossamer (“Splitting Hares” et al.). I don’t know if he has a name.

    That Dodson cover, though… man, that’s awesome. “What’s Opera, Doc?” is one of my all-time fave cartoons, I may have to shell out for that one.

Leave a Reply

