Is Joёlle Jones Drawing The Cheetah For Superman: American Alien?

Superman: American Alien is a new seven part mini-series set to premiere in November that focuses on how Clark Kent develops into Superman. I wasn’t particularly excited for the series because while the artists attached are great, it’s written by Max Landis and he’s sort of a huge douche. But it looks like I might have to pick up one of the issues, because the art is just going to be too awesome.

I was intrigued when Joёlle Jones was announced as one of the artists on the book, because she’s straight up amazing. I love her work. If you’re not reading Lady Killer, do yourself a favour and go check it out. It’s gorgeous and so much fun. She also just did a Mockingbird oneshot for Marvel with Chelsea Cain that everyone is raving about, and she’s drawn a variety of brief superhero gigs over the years that have all been great.

And now, it looks like she’s going to be drawing the classic Wonder Woman villain, the Cheetah. Yesterday Jones tweeted a couple of her sketches for Superman: American Alien, following one of Clark Kent with this art and the words “Also… Cheetah! #AmericanAlien”:


And now I am intrigued. The Cheetah can be a very fun villain, when done well, and I love a good modern update of a classic character. A lot of artists draw clothing and hair in the most generic manner and haven’t updated their approach to either since about the mid-1980s. Artists that can make characters look like real people who would exist today, with up-to-date fashion and hair, make their work so much more interesting and fun.

Just from these few sketches, I want to know ALL about this Cheetah. There’s so much personality and style here that has me curious about the woman behind the Cheetah. We don’t know which incarnation Jones is going for here because details on her issue are sparse, but whoever it is she looks cool and mean and fascinating.

I can provide no information at all in terms of when this issue will be out or what the story is. Only the first issue of the mini has been solicited, with art by Nick Dragotta, so we’ll have to keep our eyes peeled. But I can tell you that it’s probably going to be gorgeous enough for me to get over my distaste for Max Landis and buy it. Joёlle Jones, you guys. She’s just too good.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Is Joёlle Jones Drawing The Cheetah For Superman: American Alien?”

  1. Cow Commando Says:

    Cheetah is actually a very good opponent for Superman, she should be more challenging for him than she’s for Wonder Woman imo. I loved the artwork on Lady Killer and I love this sketch, I’ll definitely pick it up

  2. Anonymous Says:

    The art is very nice (she kinda reminds me of Kristen Stewart here), but like you, I’m not a fan of Max Landis. And I remember reading about his pitch for a Wonder Woman movie, and it was yet another atrocious “evil Amazons” take on the character. So needless to say, I’m not expecting much from this comic.

  3. Darci Says:

    According to this turned out to be Barbara Minerva. Too bad, it was a missed opportunity to bring back Priscilla Rich!

Leave a Reply

