Colouring Book Variant Covers For Wonder Woman’s January 2016 Comics

I’m not even sure how this is going to work, but DC Comics’ newest monthly variant cover theme is adult colouring book pages for their January 2016 comics. Adult colouring books are all the rage now, and DC’s gotten their artists to draw covers particularly suited for colouring; it’s not just regular comic art without colour, but rather art specifically drawn for colouring. It’s more linework than shading, and there’s lots of outlined details for us to meticulously colour in.

My aforementioned trepidation is multifaceted. What’s the paper going to be like? I like a colouring book with decent, thick pages. Also, is this going to mess up the comics? Like if I’m digging in deep with my coloured pencils to get a solid red in Wonder Woman’s tiara, am I going to have a star indent in the first few pages of my comic? The mechanics of it have me wary, yet I’m also intrigued because colouring is a blast. Unlike most normal people, I just never stopped colouring. I’m not a bandwagon jumper on this fad; I have been a regular colourer for thirty years now, I just had to use kid books a lot. Now there are more options, which is super fun, including these upcoming covers featuring Wonder Woman.

First up, is the variant for Wonder Woman #48 by Emanuela Lupacchino:


I LOVE this. It’s so cool. I’m a huge fan of Emanuela Lupacchino generally, and this piece is especially gorgeous. The tweaks to the costume are fun, and her Wonder Woman looks both fierce and lovely. It also looks like a great colouring page, with a lot going on in the costume and some good balance with a background that’s not too sparse or too busy. I’m definitely going to pick this up.

Next up, Aaron Lopresti on Superman/Wonder Woman #25:


This one’s only okay for me. The characters look fine, but they’re a little bit bare. I’ve coloured Superman about a million times in my life, and apart from getting the “S” shield just right, it’s kind of dull; filling in all of that blue gets old quick. The background is jam-packed in that style folks seem to be into with the current spate of adult colouring books, but personally it’s not my jam. I like to colour things, not patterns.

Wonder Woman also appears on the cover of Justice League #48 by Scott Kolins:


We get to colour all of the Justice League! That’s fun. I’m not a huge Kolins fan, and the background is a little sparse, but I like that his linework is such that it’ll be easier to do some shading and colour variation.

Wonder Woman’s on the cover of Justice League of America #8 as well, by Cullen Bunn:


I like this one even better! The artwork is more my preferred style, and it hits a good level of detail for potential colouring. The background will probably get tedious and will take real commitment to finish, but it’s doable. If I got this cover, I’d probably mix it up with weird colours to fill them all in, just for fun.

Look for all of these variant covers this January, and as always with these variant covers be sure to talk to your local comic shop ahead of time if you want to reserve a specific one. And, of course, post pictures of your covers once you’ve coloured them in!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

