Come See Me in Chicago for Lois Lane Fun, March 16 at Women & Children First and March 18-20 at C2E2


America! I am leaving my igloo and my maple syrup farm behind to come south and visit your nation. More specifically, Chicago! For a series of very fun events surrounding my newly released book, Investigating Lois Lane: The Turbulent History of the Daily Planet’s Ace Reporter. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve never been to Chicago before, but everyone says it’s a great city and I’m excited to explore it when I’m not chatting about Lois.

My first event is at the bookstore Women & Children First, on Wednesday, March 16 at 7:30pm. It’s a panel discussion called “The Legacy of Lois Lane”, and I’ll be talking about the history of Lois as well as several other female comic book characters along with my super fantastic fellow panelists. They include: Anne Elizabeth Moore from the Ladydrawers and the upcoming Threadbare: Clothes, Sex, and Trafficking (it’s really good, by the way), Lauren Burke from the Ladies Night Anthology series, Caitling Rosberg from The A.V. Club, and Katie Schenkel from Panels, Comics Alliance, The Mary Sue, and more! It’s a killer line up and I can’t wait to hear everyone’s thoughts on Lois Lane and the history of female characters in comics. It’s going to be a lot of fun. For more information, check out the panel’s Women & Children First event listing and/or the Facebook event page.

After that, I’ve got Thursday all to myself for the most part. If there are any Chicago locals or Chicago enthusiasts reading this, hit the comments tell me what awesome things I should do with my day!

Then it’s C2E2, which should be awesome. Comic conventions are always a good time. My publisher’s distributor, Independent Publishers Group, has a booth at the show, #640, and my official signing times there are:

  • Friday, March 18, 3:00-4:00pm
  • Saturday, March 19, 1:30-2:30pm
  • Sunday, March 20, 11:30am-12:30pm

We’re going to have books for sale and fun stuff to give away, so if you’re going to be at C2E2 you should definitely stop by. I’ve got bookplates for both Wonder Woman Unbound and Investigating Lois Lane, so your books will look extra snazzy. And if you don’t want to buy anything or get things signed, you can just come over and we can talk about Lois for a while; I’m always game for some Lois chatting.

So yeah, it’s going to be a very fun trip. I’m excited to find out if Chicago is my kind of razzmatazz. Though I’m also preparing myself not to be disappointed when all of my favourite fictional Chicago things prove to be not real; I’ll be sad if I don’t spy any Winslows, ER doctors, or the Steak Me Home Tonight food truck, but I’ll get over it. Hope to see you all soon, Chicago people!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

