My Adventures in Chicago: The Lois Lane Panel at Women & Children First and C2E2


Now that I am returned to my home and native land, I’ve got some time to look back at my Chicago trip and share some of the highlights. It was a fun, busy, Lois Lane-centric few days that started with the “Legacy of Lois Lane” panel Wednesday night at Women & Children First. Well, technically it started with me taking a bus from Kingston to Chicago, but that was less eventful; I listened to Hamilton and then slept a bunch. But then, awake and alert after all of that bus sleeping, I arrived in Chicago to panel it up!

The panel was a blast. Everyone at Women & Children First was fantastic and into the panel, and they couldn’t have been more helpful. Also, I lucked out and put together a ridiculously awesome group of panelists: Anne Elizabeth Moore moderated the panel and was spectacularly good at it, while Lauren Burke, Caitlin Rosberg, and Katie Schenkel were all smart and funny and made so many great points (in the photo above, from left to right it goes Anne, Katie, me, Lauren, Caitlin; also, we’re all wearing Daily Planet press badges). Plus Lauren brought some old issues of Superman’s Girl Friend Lois Lane, which was rad!

It’s hard to determine the success of a panel when you’re on it, but it felt like it went really well. We hit on most of the major topics we wanted to get into, and everyone got to be involved. They also had to bring in some more chairs and there were still people standing in the back, which was pretty great. Everyone seemed to be having a good time, and I know I had a lot of fun; you can’t really have a bad time when you’re talking about Lois Lane.  Plus I got to talk about some of my favourite Lois stories ever, chatted about Phyllis Coates for a bit, and we all worked in mentions of other great comics that are worth checking out. I love that everyone who attended the panel left with a list of a variety of killer comics to go find and read.

The panel was recorded, and I’ll post it once it goes online so everyone can see it!

After the panel came C2E2, which was also great! And enormous. Wow, I’ve never been to a show that big before. It was insane, in the best way.  It was hard not to buy everything; I had to talk myself out of purchasing the Batman v Superman Wonder Woman Barbie (it was AWESOME, but it was $60, which seemed a bit much). I did well with what I did purchase, though, including a great Sho Murase Catwoman print and a lucky pick on a Batman v Superman mini-Funko blind box that landed me a Wonder Woman! Plus I also got to see/meet a bunch of rad people including Marguerite Bennett (I can’t wait for her Lois in DC Comics Bombshells), Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez, Tommy Lee Edwards, and so many more!

But I wasn’t just there to take in the sights, even though I could have spent all weekend doing that and still not have seen everything! I was signing books at the Independent Publisher’s Group booth, and that was also a lot of fun. All of the IPG folks were great, and it was fun to see so many people come by! There were a few people I knew through the internet, but also folks who had seen the AV Club review or The Atlantic piece, so that was neat. I’m so glad that the press for Investigating Lois Lane seems to be reaching folks. So yeah, I got to sign a bunch of books and meet a bunch of people and I was surprised and pleased with the number of folks I saw this weekend given that I was only signing for two and a half hours.

In between all of the books events, I got to meet all of the people I’ve been working with in real life for the first time. My publisher is based in Chicago and my agent came over from Minnesota, so I got to hang out in person with all of the people I’ve been talking to through the internet for years and years. And they’re all wonderful! It was lovely to meet everyone for real and find out that they’re all as awesome as I thought they’d be. Everyone was so great and nice, plus they’re all very excited about Investigating Lois Lane and what might be coming next, so that was encouraging and fun. I’m really glad to be working with such good, smart people, and I’m very fortunate to be a part of such an amazing team. Also, extra huge thanks to my pal at Chicago Review Press, Mary Kravenas, for getting me through the busyness of everything!

So yeah, that was Chicago! It was a good trip all around. And I got to eat deep dish pizza, which was impressively tasty. I don’t know what they do to the cheese to make it chewy like bubblegum, but it is super weird and also super delicious. Huge thanks to everyone who came by the panel and the convention! It was great to see you all!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

