Cover Reveal For New Wonder Woman YA Novel, Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

warbringer.jpg

We can all add another fun Wonder Woman property to our 2017 calendars! On top of the Wonder Woman movie coming out in June, there’s also a YA novel starring a young Diana set to hit bookstores on August 29, 2017. It’s called Wonder Woman: Warbringer and it’s written by Leigh Bardugo, the New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows. You can see the lovely cover above, and here’s a description of the book with some comments from Bargudo, courtesy of Bustle:

“Diana means so much to so many people,” Leigh Bardugo tells Bustle. “That’s definitely daunting, but it’s also why I took on this novel in the first place—because I love her, too.”

In Bardugo’s tale, Diana is a girl on a mission to prove herself to her warrior sisters. But when the opportunity arises, she throws away her shot at glory and breaks Amazon law to save a mortal — a mysterious girl named Alia Keralis. But as Diana will quickly learn, her brash act could lead the world to doom and destruction.

Because what Diana doesn’t know is that Alia is a Warbringer, a direct descendant of Helen of Troy, and she is fated to bring about bloodshed and misery. Diana and Alia must stand together against their enemies — some of whom to destroy Alia; others who want to claim her for their own.

“I was brought on to tell my version of Diana’s evolution as a hero, and it’s been pretty thrilling to try to pull that off,” Bardugo says. “I don’t really think it’s about taking liberties, because there’s a varied canon already. I came to the project knowing I wanted to keep some essential elements of Wonder Woman lore intact, and that I wanted to preserve the strength and kindness at Diana’s core. But I also knew I had my own story to tell and my own spin I wanted to put on her mythology.”

I’m certainly intrigued. We’ve had a few comic book stories lately with a teen Diana that have been a lot of fun; James Tynion IV and Noelle Stevenson’s fantastic Sensation Comics tale springs to mind, as does Wonder Woman: The True Amazon. And, of course, the many Silver Age adventures of Wonder Girl. Bardugo seems to be doing her own thing here, which I’m down for. Wonder Woman’s canon is in disarray as of late, and I’m curious to see what she brings to the table in terms of establishing a new take on Diana for prose readers.

The mythology angle sounds fun, too. Diana tends to work well with a mortal buddy, and Wonder Woman facing off against destiny should be a blast. I’m excited to see her defend her new friend and prove the fates wrong. Wonder Woman’s not the type to just bow to some vague curse; if she believes in someone, she’ll have faith that they can overcome whatever past and baggage they’re saddled with, and that could make for both a good read and a good message.

I’m not familiar with Bardugo’s work, though I’m certainly going to check out a few of her books now in advance of Warbringer. The last time I did such a thing was when Gwenda Bond was announced as the writer of a Lois Lane YA novel, and that certainly worked out spectacularly. I tracked down her earlier work and enjoyed it immensely, and then her Lois novels were amazing. Fingers crossed that Bardugo’s work is just as fun. I know that Bond and several other writers I follow speak very highly of her work, which is a great sign.

Wonder Woman: Warbringer won’t be out for a while yet, but you can pre-order it now if you’re a keener. It looks like it’s going to be a fun way to cap off the summer; I’m certainly looking forward to kicking back with the book on Labour Day weekend and enjoying some Amazon fun.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Cover Reveal For New Wonder Woman YA Novel, Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo”

  1. Darci Says:

    It’s too bad Random House didn’t reveal the cover artist. Perhaps Leigh will be gracious enough to mention them?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

