Come See Me at Hal-Con This Weekend, September 22-24!

halcon

The biggest comics/sci-fi/general nerdery convention in my hometown is this weekend, September 22-24, and I am honoured to be a guest this year! Hal-Con is a great show held in downtown Halifax, and they’ve got a very cool lineup of guests, panels, and activities this year. The convention organizers always go all out to try to provide a cool experience for attendees, and they’ve done another excellent job this time around! I’m so excited to be a part of it.

So here’s where I’ll be this weekend:

My Table, A7: All Weekend Long!

I’ll be set up in the Scotiabank Centre for the entirety of the convention, at Table A7 in the guests area (between Gerhard and Ryan North, which is an A+ spot). Just look for my bright banner and the Wonder Woman table cloth! Here is a handy map:

halconmap

I’ll have copies of all three of my books for sale: Wonder Woman Unbound, Investigating Lois Lane, and The Many Lives of Catwoman, all for as reasonable a price as I can make them without losing money. And hopefully I’ll be set up for credit cards, if this new card reader thing I bought for my phone works, but cash is always good too. I’ll sign everything with my fancy book plates, of course. Plus, I’ll have free bookmarks to give away even if you don’t want to buy anything! The vendor area is open from 12-8pm on Friday, 9am-8pm on Saturday, and 9am-6pm on Sunday, and I’ll be at my table during those hours apart from events that follow.

Chat/Livestream at Extra Life HFX Booth: Gaming Floor, Friday 4pm

My pal Austin is part of this super cool gaming group that raises money for children’s hospitals, and I’ll be stopping by their booth to chat and be part of their livestream. Should be a good time! And maybe they’ll let me play video games. I wonder if they’ve got Mario Kart? Are folks even streaming Super Nintendo games? That may be too retro.

Panel, Getting Over Creative Hurdles: Room 302, Friday 4:45-5:30pm

Join me and novelist Margarita Gakis as we chat about what to do when you’ve written yourself into a corner or are otherwise stuck at any stage of a project. With Margarita doing fiction and me doing non-fiction, this should be a really fun chat with different perspectives and tips that are hopefully useful on both sides. We’ll be answering questions as well!

Panel, Women in Media: Room 301, Saturday 1-1:45pm

It’s me and Margarita Gakis again, talking about the role of women in media, how things have changed, and how far we have to go. Should be a cool conversation with lots to talk about! I’ll try not to blather on for too long about how amazing the Wonder Woman movie was, but I can’t guarantee I won’t.

Stargazer Soiree: Delta Halifax, Saturday 7-9pm

This is an event with all of the Hal-Con guests and staff and I’m guessing convention attendees as well? I’m not sure of the mechanisms through which convention attendees get in, but I’m pretty sure there is a way. Perhaps a Golden Ticket? I don’t know. Anyway, we’ll all be there are there’s drinks and snacks and such, so that’s fun.

Panel, Author Writing Tips: Room 302, Sunday 1:45-2:30pm

Join me, Margarita Gakis once more (I don’t know her at all, but by this point we should be fast friends! Or maybe mortal enemies? Time will tell. It should be an interesting dynamic either way), and Nicola R. White as we talk about writing, publishing, and general advice for getting involved in the world of books. There’ll be lots of audience questions for this too, which I’m looking forward to. I love Hal-Con’s commitment to these writing panels! So great.

So yeah, that’s my weekend. Should be busy but very fun. Come say hi, grab some books if you are so inclined, and check out the website for more great activities so that you can enjoy this wonderful show!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Come See Me at Hal-Con This Weekend, September 22-24!”

  1. Margarita Gakis Says:

    I vote for mortal enemies for the drama! 😝

Leave a Reply

