My Top Three Comics of 2023

Over at Shepherd, I’ve joined 1200 different authors (yeah, 1200!) in discussing our favourite reads of 2023. When asked, I knew I had to go all comics because that’s the kind of nerd I am. Also, there were some amazing comics out this year.

My top pick was Wonder Woman Historia: The Amazons by the amazing team of writer Kelly Sue DeConnick and artists Phil Jimenez, Gene Ha, and Nicola Scott. If you’re the sort of person who reads my blog, you’re probably the sort of person who’s already read Historia, but in case you haven’t, you need to. It’s an origin story for the Amazons that is bold and furious and powerful, and also absolutely gorgeous. Best book of the year, hands down, nothing comes close.

Next up was Catwoman: Lonely City by Cliff Chiang. Technically it came out in collected form at the very end of last year, but the rules weren’t hard and fast. Chiang is my very favourite artist ever, and this book is such a joy. Him drawing Catwoman, and all of Gotham entirely, is a wonderful time.

Finally, I chose the first volume of Kelly Thompson’s Captain Marvel Omnibus, with art from Carmen Carnero, Lee Garbett, Cory Smith, and more. I loved this run so much, and I remain sad that it’s all over. It was a fun, heartwarming, action-packed fifty issues, and this massive collection contains the first big chunk of it. It’s a beast, but an excellent entry point if you missed out on this treat of a run.

You can read more about my picks by visiting Shepherd, and you can also check out their full year-end collection of author’s favorites to see which books made the most lists. It’s very cool to see what everyone was enjoying over the past year!

Published by Tim Hanley

Tim Hanley is a comic book historian and the author of Wonder Woman Unbound, Investigating Lois Lane, The Many Lives of Catwoman, Betty and Veronica: The Leading Ladies of Riverdale, and Not All Supermen.

2 thoughts on “My Top Three Comics of 2023

  1. Totally with you on Historia being the best book of the year!!

    I found out about you when I was writing my Master’s thesis on Wonder Woman back in 2018. Been a follower and fan of your content ever since. Are you commenting on Tom King’s run anywhere as you did with Rucka’s? I’d love to follow if you are!

    1. Thanks for following along! I don’t have time these days to do reviews like I used to, but I’m certainly reading the new run. I have mixed feelings so far. The art is great, but the story is just okay for me thus far. I think I’ve got some trepidation because I’m never sure whether I’m getting Mister Miracle Tom King or Heroes in Crisis Tom King. This arc still feels like it could go either way.

Leave a comment